PA Foundation Honors Student Scholars

The PA Foundation recently announced the recipients of its 2017 student scholarship program. This list includes the first-ever recipient of the Timi Agar Barwick Scholarship for Humanism in Medicine, which was established in 2016 to honor Barwick’s 25 years of service at PAEA.

PA Foundation scholarships support PA students who demonstrate a passion for the profession and health care-related community service. For this cycle, the Foundation awarded $23,000 in scholarship funding to 18 PA students from 18 different PA programs in 12 states.

This year’s scholarship recipients are:

AAPA Past Presidents Scholarship
Diana Ramirez – LeMoyne College

AAPA Rural Health Caucus Scholarship
Carter Kenny – University of the Cumberlands
Joe South – Keiser University

Ron Nelson Memorial Scholarship
Song Kang – Southern Illinois University

NCCPA Endowed Scholarship
Farihah Khan – Florida International University
Nicole Perez – Case Western Reserve University

PA Foundation Scholarship
Victoria James – University of Alabama at Birmingham
Jennifer Knutson – Medical University of South Carolina
Jacob Miller – East Carolina University
Gabrielle Neri-Mynatt – University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Jared Newman – Loma Linda University
Victoria Robertson – Mercer University
Haley Rose – Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Tahia Syeda – New York Institute of Technology
Jie Zhuang – University of Southern California

Ron Pace Memorial Scholarship
William Hoeksema – Nova Southeastern University-Orlando
Emily Humphrey – Barry University

Timi Agar Barwick Scholarship for Humanism in Medicine
Jamie Shelstad – Bethel University

Since the student scholarship program’s inception, the PA Foundation has awarded almost $2.3 million in scholarship funding to more than 1,400 PA students. For more information, visit the PA Foundation’s website.