Students Pack Their Bags for the Forum

The Education Forum is just around the corner and as program faculty and staff members prepare for travel and an action-packed week in Washington, D.C., 25 PA students will be doing the same.

The students were chosen during a competitive selection process to be part of the inaugural Future Educator Fellowship class attending this year’s Forum. The open call for the fellowship received 73 applications from students at more than 50 PA programs.

Future Educator Fellows’ Agenda

The 25 students (listed below) will participate in an intensive two-day student track where they will learn about the different pathways into PA education, as well as professional advocacy and research.

They will also have a chance to attend select education sessions that will give them the opportunity to learn more about developing teaching skills, building a curriculum, innovative instruction methods, and available resources for future educators.

The student fellows — who will be identified by their lime green name badges and encouraged to network with Forum attendees — will also be invited to attend the:

  • PAEA Awards Luncheon
  • Plenary Session
  • PA Pipeline Presentation
  • State of the Association Address
  • Closing Reception
  • Breakfast with the Board of Directors

A Year in the Making

Their participation in this fellowship comes from the hard work of the Student Advisory Task Force’s six members and the recommendations they put forward, which were subsequently approved by the PAEA Board of Directors in early 2015.

In addition to the fellowship, PAEA also opened up the call for posters to PA students. Two student posters were accepted and will be presented during Friday morning’s poster session at the Forum.

Keep an eye out for the student fellows wearing their lime green name tags and be sure to give them a warm welcome!

Questions about the fellowship or student participants? Email Danielle Di Silvestro at

Future Educator Fellows

Markie Benavidez – UC Davis

Julia Burkhardt – University of Detroit Mercy

Marshall (Justin) Bynum – Mississippi College

Mike Cheesman – Rocky Mountain University

Kelly Conner – Wake Forest University

Jace Crawford – Emory University

Morgan Elam – Harding University

Kelly Finnegan – University of Colorado

Paul Gonzales – UT Southwestern

Laura Gonzalez – Northwestern University

Sarah Gudmundson – Midwestern University (Glendale)

Kathryn Howard – Saint Louis University

Ryan Hunton – University of Kentucky

Raymundo Jacinto – Pace University

Paula Kennedy – Boston University

Nicole Klopovic- UC Davis

Megan McGovern – Augsburg College

Sarah Nargiso – University of Southern California

Sara Orlowski – Wake Forest University

Margaret Pribyl – University of New Mexico

Marc Robinson – Eastern Michigan University

Kimberly Sullivan – University of Nebraska

Mason VanNostrand – University of Nebraska

Mark Volpe – Yale University

Jurgen Weber – Midwestern University (Glendale)