New Faculty Award for Professional Excellence

The nomination cycle for this award will open in March 2025.

Award Information

This award recognizes a program faculty member with three or fewer years of service as of March 12, 2024 who has made noteworthy contributions to PA education.


Nominees will be evaluated in all four of the following areas and must demonstrate substantial contributions in a minimum of one of the following areas:

  • Teaching, which may include classroom, laboratory instruction, or course development
  • Scholarship, which may include grant writing, research, publications, presentations, or other scholarly and creative activities
  • Administration, which may include general administration, planning, development, or evaluation activities
  • Professional service, which may include service on committees at the program, community, state, or national level and that represents or promotes the PA profession

Requirements and materials

Employment Status

Employed at least half-time at the time of nomination (0.5 FTE) at a PAEA member program and for a maximum of three or fewer cumulative years in PA education as of March 12, 2024. All years do not have to be at the same program.

Nomination Letter

Nomination letter describing in detail how each of the award criteria were met, including evidence of performance above and beyond the nominee’s job description

Letters of Support

Two letters of support addressing the author’s first-hand knowledge of the nominee with relation to one or more of the award criteria

Curriculum Vitae/Resume

Nominee’s complete CV or resume

Be sure to check out nomination FAQs for additional information and tips


  • Personalized award
  • Check for $500
  • Recognition at the Awards Ceremony
  • Complimentary PAEA Education Forum registration

2023 Recipient

  • 2022 – Carl Frizell, Meharry Medical College Physician Assistant Sciences Program
  • 2021 – Jensen T. Lewis, Case Western Reserve University PA Program
  • 2020 – Sara Lolar, Wayne State University Physician Assistant Studies Program
  • 2019 – Breann Garbas, University of Florida
  • 2018 – Hilary Petersen, Case Western Reserve University
  • 2017 – Sarah Deyo, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady University
  • 2016 – Jay Metzger, University of North Dakota
  • 2015 – Ryan White, Rutgers School of Health Related Professions
  • 2014 – Carrie Beebout, Saint Francis University
  • 2013 – Betsy Melcher, Duke University
  • 2012 – Nicholas Hudak, Duke University
  • 2011 – James Gunn, Midwestern University, Downers Grove
  • 2010 – Stephanie DeSandro, Baylor College of Medicine
  • 2009 – Joe Schwenkler, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
  • 2008 – Bettie Coplan, Midwestern University, Glendale
  • 2007 – Karen Graham, University of Toledo PA Program
  • 2006 – Brenda Kaminiski, Shenandoah University
  • 2005 – Jeanie McHugo, University of North Dakota
  • 2004 – Monica Medina, Drexel University
  • 2003 – Jeanne Cavalieri, Stony Brook University
  • 2002 – Vicki Waters, Baylor College of Medicine
  • 2001 – Judith Colver, UTHSC, San Antonio
  • 2000 – Thomas Woods, Saint Francis University
  • 1999 – Carmen Fox, Nova Southeastern University
  • 1998 – Susan LeLacheur, George Washington University
  • 1998 – Pat Jennings, University of Kentucky
  • 1997 – Don Frosch, Finch University/The Chicago Medical School
  • 1996 – Rose Jones, UTSWMC
  • 1995 – Merideth Hansen, Interservice Program
  • 1994 – Les Howard, University of Southern California
  • 1993 – Robert Bunnell, University of Utah