Leadership Development Award

The nomination cycle for this award is open from March 14 –  May 16 2023.

Award Information

This award recognizes an individual who develops future leaders among faculty by demonstrating exceptional leadership.
Please note that this is not a leadership award, but rather a leadership mentor award.


Nominees will be evaluated in all four of the following areas and must demonstrate substantial contributions to PA education in a minimum of three of the following areas:

  • Innovation and creativity that:
    • Leads to new and/or improved processes
    • Brings a unique perspective to relationships
  • Mentorship:
    • Serves as an advocate and guide for professional development
    • Encourages, develops, and inspires professional service
  • Communication:
    • Listens actively
    • Solicits feedback and input
    • Seeks to understand before being understood
    • Provides constructive criticism that leads to growth and development
  • Leads by example:
    • Serves as a role model to faculty colleagues
    • Demonstrates collaborative spirit

Requirements and materials

Employment Status

Employed at least half-time at the time of nomination (0.5 FTE) at a PAEA member program and for a minimum of three cumulative years in PA education. All years do not have to be at the same program.

Nomination Letter

Nomination letter describing in detail how each of the award criteria were met, including evidence of performance above and beyond the nominee’s job description

Letters of Support

Two letters of support addressing the author’s first-hand knowledge of the nominee with relation to three out of the four award criteria

Curriculum Vitae/Resume

Nominee’s complete CV or resume


  • Personalized award
  • Check for $500
  • Recognition at the Awards Ceremony
  • Complimentary 2022 PAEA Education Forum registration for one representative of the program

2022 Recipient

Stephane VanderMeulen, Creighton University

  • 2021 – Jacqueline S. Barnett, Duke University Medical Center PA Program
  • 2020 – Susan Fernandes, Stanford University School of Medicine
  • 2019 – Donna Agnew, Salus University
  • 2018 – Michael Huckabee, Mayo Clinic School of Health Sciences
  • 2017 – Patrick Auth, Drexel University