Rising Star Award

The nomination cycle for this award will open in March 2025.

Award Information

This award recognizes a program faculty member with three to seven years as of March 12, 2024 of service who has made noteworthy contributions to PA education.


Nominees will be evaluated in all four of the following areas and must demonstrate substantial contributions to PA education in a minimum of two of the following areas:

  • Teaching, which may include classroom, laboratory instruction, or course development
  • Scholarship, which may include grant writing, research, publications, presentations, or other scholarly and creative activities
  • Administration, which may include general administration, planning, development, or evaluation activities
  • Professional service, which may include service on committees at the program, community, state, or national level and represents or promotes the PA profession

Requirements and materials

Employment Status

Employed at least half-time at the time of nomination (0.5 FTE) at a PAEA member program and for a minimum of three to a maximum of seven cumulative years in PA education as of March 12, 2024. All years do not have to be at the same program.

Nomination Letter

Nomination letter describing in detail how each of the award criteria were met, including evidence of performance above and beyond the nominee’s job description

Letters of Support

Two letters of support addressing the author’s first-hand knowledge of the nominee with relation to a minimum of two of the award criteria

Curriculum Vitae/Resume

Nominee’s complete CV or resume

Be sure to check out nomination FAQs for additional information and tips


  • Personalized award
  • Check for $500
  • Recognition at the Awards Ceremony
  • Complimentary PAEA Education Forum registration

2023 Recipient

  • 2022 – Carey Berry, Northeastern University PA Program
  • 2021 – Daytheon Sturges, MEDEX Northwest PA Program
  • 2020 – Eric Nemec, Sacred Heart University
  • 2019 – Joshua Merson, MGH Institute of Health Professions
  • 2018 – Rebecca Rebman, Indiana University
  • 2017 – Kevin Wyne, University of Wisconsin – Madison
  • 2016 – Kristopher Maday, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • 2015 – Camille Loftin, UTMB, Galveston
  • 2014 – Laura Mattingly, UNTHSC, Fort Worth
  • 2013 – Kevin Schuer, University of Kentucky
  • 2012 – Jonathan Bowser, University of Colorado
  • 2011 – Debra Herrmann, George Washington University
  • 2010 – David Klocko, UTSWMC
  • 2009 – Laurel Spence, Baylor College of Medicine
  • 2008 – Anthony Brenneman, University of Iowa
  • 2007 – Alison Essary, Midwestern University, Glendale
  • 2006 – Mary Warner, Yale University
  • 2005 – Constance Goldgar, University of Utah
  • 2004 – Theresa Hegmann, University of Iowa